Cooking with my bro.

That colorful and mouth-watering stack of deliciousness may look like a sandwich but  dear reader it is a kickass veggie burger melt made on the fly by my brother and I.

Over the past couple of years my younger brother has taught himself to cook.  He credits it to  doing the master cleanse, but I think it’s because it’s in his blood. We come from a long line of people who like to cook, and an even longer line of people who love to eat.  So the other day when I mentioned that I had made veggie burgers over the weekend, his ears perked up and I promised that I would teach him how to make them.  Fast forward to today where I unfortunately forgot that I had made that promise and had to scramble all over my mother’s house for ingredients.  Luckily she had just gone grocery shopping and her fridge and pantry were stocked with delicious possibilities.

We found canned chickpeas, bell peppers, onions, garlic, cilantro, rolled oats, and cooked brown rice… all the fixings for a veggie burger.  I pureed the first five ingredients, dumped the puree in a bowl, and mixed in the last two ingredients with a good pinch of salt, pepper, and Mrs. Dash.  My brother cooked the sliced peppers and onions while I formed the patties and wilted some cilantro with salt before adding in some diced tomatoes.  I then fried up the burgers and topped them with some pepperjack that my brother sliced and assembled the melt. In 30 minutes were able to sit down for a healthy and tasty lunch with my mom.  It was my mom’s first veggie burger and her verdict: “mmmmmm, this is so good honey, mmmmmmm.”  As for my brother, he’s already brainstorming some drool worthy combos to test out: eggplant and parm, black bean, kale and pesto, eggplant, bread crumbs, and mozzarella, or, or, or…the list can go on forever <—– (Oh jeez, I hope the grammar police aren’t around that sentence is horrendous)

I’m no vegetarian but this melt could make me change my mind.

The little bro doing his ‘thang.  This is what happens when you refuse to pose for a picture for my blog.  I snap one of you eating. Muahahaha.

This entry was posted in Family, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooking with my bro.

  1. aleksandraer says:

    O Yummy sandwich 😀 Looks great, probably taste the same :<

  2. V says:

    Wow this looks great! I can’t wait to have Shmoops try whipping this up 🙂

    • Yay definitely try it! My only suggestion would be to also add some flour to the veggie burger mix to help firm it up. I’ve been playing around with a recipe to post up and found flour really helps. Start with a tablespoon at a time but no more than 1/4 cup.

Leave a Reply

