Harvest Saturdays 1.1

This week I picked up our CSA box all by my lonesome.  Mr. Yaz(notthepill) is sick and the little one didn’t want to come along.  I was able to have an actual conversation with Farmer Tracey and catch up on our lives.  And she sent me home with tons of tasty veggies including:

  1. Turnips and their greens
  2. Beet greens
  3. Bok Choy
  4. Tatsoi (I think)
  5. Rosemary
  6. 1 dozen eggs including a cool light greenish one.
  7. Pomegranates
  8. A lemon
  9. Tangelos
  10. The tiniest lime I have ever seen.

I plan to make pomegranate molasses, cook the beet and turnip greens with preserved lemons for quinoa breakfast bowls, use the tatsoi for salad, and I think I see some lemon bars in our future.

We ate our way through last weeks CSA box and were finished with it by Tuesday.  Pomegranates went into oatmeal, we ate the greens this way and cooked with tons of garlic and red pepper, the citrus ended up juiced and in smoothies for Mr. Yaz(notthepill), and the lemongrass was delicious in the best squash soup I have ever had.  Seriously we were licking our bowls clean.

This entry was posted in CSA Box and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

