Wednesdays

Wednesdays are pretty special in our house.  Sophie wakes up in the morning already knowing that this is the day that she and I get a treat: our weekly visit from my Mom, her Lala.  These visits are a big deal.  On Tuesday nights Sophie is already walking around the house telling her invisible friends that “my Lala is coming tomorrow.”  My mom always arrives in the late morning but regardless of that, for hours before hand, Sophie and I will open the front door just to take a peak and see if Lala is here yet.
I can’t even tell you how giggly this makes us girls – still in our pajamas, stopping mid-activity to race to our door and peer outside, me hoping that our neighbors don’t see that it’s already 10 in the morning and we are neither dressed, brushed, nor washed for the day.

And then, when my mom arrives, it’s always a grand entrance.  Arms full of packages, cheeks ready for kisses, arms ready to embrace, and lavish exclamations over how big Sophie has gotten in the few days since she has last seen her.  After Sophie’s excitement has tapered off, we mothers grab a cup of coffee and pore over what my mom has brought: bags full of the bounty from my father’s garden.  Piles of calamansi, white nectarines, zucchini, cactus flowers, Asian pears, banana peppers, sweet peppers, pursalane (we call it pig weed), chilies with their tender leaves to name a few.  Smiling with pride, my mom relays any news from dad as I examine the fruits, smelling them and even taking a bite when I find a piece that is perfectly ripe.

*************************************************************************************


Calamansi has a flavor that is forever stamped on my tongue.   It is very tart and has a hint of orange in it.  Like the kumquat, the peel of the ripe calamansi is sweet and edible.  My dad used to tease my brother and me by eating a whole calamansi and spitting out the seeds while our mouths puckered in sympathy as he chewed through the sour fruit knowing how much that grossed us out.  My parents have a calamansi tree that is older than me and growing up, I had the juice mixed with hot water and honey for a sore throat, the fruit halved and squeezed over my noodles or my leche flan, and countless other ways.  This particular year though, the tree has been especially prolific.  And my Dad has continued to send over bags upon bags of the fruit with my mom every Wednesday. Around the same time a book I had ordered, by David Lebovitz called The Perfect Scoop, had arrived.  Inside I found a recipe for his lemon sorbet and I tinkered around with it and came up with calamansi honey sorbet.  The result was perfectly tart, subtly floral, and refreshing.

Calamansi and Honey Sorbet inspired by David Lebovitz’s Lemon Sorbet in  The Perfect Scoop

  • 2 cups of water
  • ½ cup honey (good local honey tastes best)
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup calamansi juice strained (I used the juice from when the fruit was ripe but unripe works as well)
  • Skin of 10 calamansi (just use the skin that is left over after you juice the fruit)

Mix the water with the sugar, honey, and calamansi skins in a nonreactive pan.  Heat the mixture until the sugar has dissolved and smells delicious.  Remove the pan from heat and let the mixture cool down before placing it in the fridge until fully chilled.  Once the mixture is cold add the calamansi juice and freeze in your icecream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
Try not to stare at the machine as it churns the sorbet  and steal tastes for the toddler that is waiting oh so patiently.

*************************************************************************************

Calamansi-ade in 5 steps or How to Get Your Toddler Out of Boredom/a Funk/Depression because she woke up from her nap and Lala was gone.

As great and wonderful that Wednesday mornings can be, Wednesday afternoons are pretty tough.  Sophie fights naptime and a tantrum is almost always imminent because she knows that my mom leaves while she is asleep.   I always try to have an activity pre-planned for this post-naptime period.  Lately, she has really taken to making calamansi-ade.

Calamansi-ade
•    1 cup calamansi juice
•    ½ cup honey
•    ¼ sugar

1.    Gather your ingredients (in this case I ran out of honey and had to use all sugar instead.  I think it tastes better with honey.)

2.    Dump all of the ingredients in a non-reactive container.

3.  Mix

Or in this case give mixture to toddler in a childproof container and let her shake it out.  Shake, shake, shake!

4.    Mix desired amount  of concentrate with water.

5.    Give to toddler to enjoy.

The concentrate can keep in the fridge for around a week.  See if it lasts that long =)

This entry was posted in Dessert, Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesdays

  1. Cris says:

    Such a lovely read. I hope you post regularly because I can’t wait to see more! Love you and love the little star of all those pictures!

  2. Viv says:

    love this site and can’t wait to read more! =D

Leave a Reply

